New Release 28th of January!

Magnus Dölerud – saxofon Hans Backenroth – bas Oscar Johansson Werre – trummor

Trio Circle releases its debut album! Magnus Dölerud, Hans Backenroth and Oscar Johansson Werre explore one of jazz history’s class formats- the saxophone trio. After a sneak preview at Glenn Miller Café in December 2021, the album will be released on both CD and digital platforms on January 28, 2022.

Saxophone, bass and drums is a format that promotes an open and creative sound.  The lack of chord instruments opens a harmonic door that gives improvisers more freedom to shape their music. However, it’s a freedom that also demands greater responsibility and attentiveness from all.

Trio Circle consists of three strong players that embrace this freedom and make the best of it, drawing us into a detailed and varied sonic world, where the music takes shape in the moment. Their album is a wide-ranging journey from the band’s own “Prelude” through Billy Strayhorn’s “U.M.M.G” and Rolf Ericson’s beautiful “Evelyn” to Ornette Coleman’s “Broadway Blues”; along the way we are emerged in 10 diverse songs, each one explored rhythmically, melodically and harmonically.  

Saxophonist, Magnus Döderlud (born in Karlstad in 1982), has worked with most of the country’s major big bands, including Håkan Broström’s New Places Orchestra, the Ann-Sofi Söderqvist Jazz Orchestra, the Elaria Orchestra, the Blue House Jazz Orchestra and the Glenn Miller Orchestra. Together with Dan Johansson, he leads the Dölerud Johansson Quintet, which includes Torbjörn Gulz, Palle Danielsson and Fredrik Rundqvist. Over the last few years, they have toured regularly and released the album, “Echoes & Sounds” in 2018. Like Hans Backenroth, Magnus is a former member of the legendary Fredrik Norén Band and played on its final album, “Inside Up”. 

Hans Backenroth (born in Karlstad 1966) is, with his hard swinging technique, warm sound and lyrical solos, one of the leading bassists in Scandinavia. In his twenties, he studied under Nisse Sandström and became a member of the Fredrik Norén Band. He went on to play with, among others, Arne Domnérus, Monica Zetterlund, Rebecka Törnqvist, Kjell Öhman, Ulf Wakenius and Claes Janson. His longest collaboration has been with Bernt Rosengren, which started in 1987 and continues today. Hans has played with nearly all the great jazz musicians in Scandinavia and has supported international stars like Harry “Sweets” Edison, Clark Terry, Roger Kellaway, Scott Hamilton, Toots Thielemans, Kenny Barron, Karin Krog, Ed Thigpen, Doug Raney, Eddie Daniels and many others. Hans travels and tours the world and has played in Japan each of the last 20 years. He has contributed to 200 recorded albums.

Oscar Johansson Werre (born in Uppsala in 1995) began his musical career early, when he stood on stage for the first time as a two-year-old. He has continued his musical journey and, in 2018, graduated from the Royal College of Music. Despite his young age, he has already established himself on the Swedish jazz scene. He’s played with giants like Bernt Rosengren, Nisse Sandström, Jan Allan and Harry Allen (USA). He has also received a slew of grants and prizes for his drumming: Most Valuable Player at the Youth Jazz Festival 2010, the Ivar Rondin stipendium 2016, Ronnie Gardiner’s Swedish Drummer Deserving Wider Recognition Award 2017 and an award from the Uppsala Jazz Foundation in 2021, making him the first recipient of the Jazzaspen award.

Label: Prophone Records
Distribution: Naxos Sweden

Track list:

1 Prelude (Magnus Dölerud)

2 Contours (Magnus Dölerud)

3 Nardis (Miles Davis)

4 Sober (Magnus Dölerud)

5 U.M.M.G (Billy Strayhorn)

6 Bright Mississippi (Thelonious Monk)

7 Evelyn (Rolf Ericson)

8 If You Could See Me Now (Tadd Dameron)

9 It’s All Right With Me (Cole Porter)

10 Broadway Blues (Ornette Coleman)